just thinkin’

11454297503_e27946e4ff_hWe had lunch out last week and the very young waitress hung around after asking if our meal was “tasting fine.” It was a beautiful sunny day, which is rare around here , so she asked if we had plans for the afternoon. My answer was that we were going to the grocery store. Not exactly something fun for a sunny day. She hung around a little longer, so I told her Sea would read his book in the car.
And this brought to mind a story which I told her as she was still standing there smiling.
I am a quilter, and visit any and all quilt shops even if I have no reason to buy one more inch of fabric. I stopped by a favorite shop one day when we lived on Cape Cod. Two ladies were chatting with the owner as I wandered around and petted the fabric. Suddenly two huge men emerged from the small room set aside for visiting children. “Got it all sorted,” they said. “Looks pretty nice now.”
I had seen this room before filled with kids toys and usually in disarray. The owner smiled and thanked the two men.
“Every quilt shop should have a book store or a hardware store next door.” That was my addition to the conversation and got a huge nod of agreement from the two couples.
“And the grocery store,” said one of the wives.
“Oh,” I asked, “What do they do when you go to the grocery store?”
“They push each other around the parking lot in the carts,” was the answer.
So I repeat my suggestion and add yarn shops to the list…. a hardware store or a book shop. Lets keep those men happy so we can enjoy ourselves.

This entry was posted in sea, stories. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to just thinkin’

  1. Your thinking makes sense to me, too!

Leave a Reply

