button quilt

IMG_1870My fourth grade granddaughter’s class has been learning about Northwest Native American culture. With the help of the moms, they have made a button quilt. They  spent the last month drawing the designs and then sewing the red animals to the navy blue felt. They were told they could have any animal found in the northwest but cats and dogs. The two moms did the sun and the moon. They came over this week to arrange the blocks and left me with instructions of how they wanted it put together.

I can tell you that 20 felt squares sewn together are very heavy. I added the border and backing and the moms, and maybe some of the kids, will embellish the quilt with more buttons. I will try and remember to show the finished quilt when it is done, but for now I am so pleased with the animals they have drawn and sewn.

They plan to put it in the school fund raising auction next month.

This is not the first time I have had kids work on quilts for fund raisers. I have used kids art from a first and third grades. A middle school group made quilts several years in a row, doing all of the art, design and sewing. This is my first button quilt. I had never heard of them before but have now learned a bit about the Northwest Native American culture myself.

completed quilt picture: IMG_3914

This entry was posted in lucy, quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to button quilt

  1. jarhartz says:

    The quilt (although not quite finished) is beautiful. A lovely project to share. So many pieces making it whole.

  2. Adrienne says:

    What a great idea! I’ve done different kinds of quilts and squares with kids, but this is a new one.

  3. I love your project! I used to do quilts with students as part of an options class. This one is beautiful. I would love to see the final project. These are projects are lots of work. Good for you!

  4. Tara Smith says:

    That is a magnificent quilt!

  5. blkdrama says:

    Gorgeous Nanc. Nice to be multi-talented 🙂

  6. showgem says:

    What a beautiful idea. The students did an amazing job.

  7. Jaana says:

    Beautiful! I am sure this quilt will be popular at the fundraiser!

Leave a Reply

