kid lingo

I just came off the phone with a conversation with Amelia. She had had a busy week. She was tired…not surprising with a room full of three and four year olds. I am tired just thinking about it! She was making vanilla pudding with chocolate bits in it. “Oh… hot poop!” says I!

She had not remembered the name Sia gave to that delicious treat. It is not an elegant name… but hot poop is pretty good when you are tired and want a pick-me-up.

Sia named another meal we used to have years ago… “tuna yuk”. I am sure you have had some version of tuna fish, mushroom soup and potato chips. That is tuna yuk. Sia asked for it every time she came home from college. I doubt that either she or I have had it since.

Since my kids grew up in the Dr Seuss era of  read aloud books, we also had some repeat phrases added to our conversations. “Do you like green eggs and ham?”

“I do not like them, Sam-I-am… I do not like them here or there. I do not like them anywhere.” And since Sia had limited repetoire of what she would eat when she was young, she could substitute whatever was on the menu that evening. You can add your own list of hates to that.

There are other words I could add to the list, many are familiar kid lingo and fairly universal. Some are our variations of kid lingo, and perhaps needn’t be listed as they are not usual adult conversation.

When you think back on phrases created by your kids, the list becomes endless. There was a time when Sea and I would look at each other and say “Do you like my hat?”.  It was just a chance to talk to an adult. I guess it was a way to say hi when we hadn’t communicated in a while, and with four kids running around, it was not always easy to get a word in edgewise.

So, do you like my hat?

This entry was posted in sia, stories. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to kid lingo

  1. elle1955 says:

    This was a fun way to look at some of the things we do with language, with kids and adults. I do like your hat. I do, I say. I like it here and there and everywhere.

  2. Peg D says:

    Love it! We had so many when the boys were little. “Four pups….and a worm!” “Do you like my hat?” Smelly pelts are the smelly bath salts when they had colds. So many. A scrapbook worthy idea I’m thinking. 🙂

Leave a Reply

