What were you like as a child?

Interesting question. I have watched my children grow up and my grandchildren reach an age that I can see familiar traits from myself… some of them. But what was I really like? Who knows?
Mary, my older sister, was the home maker, working in the kitchen, enjoying learning how to cook. I trailed around after my dad who made up corrugated boxes for customers. I wanted to make things.
Paper dolls. That was my early work… drawing the dolls and making their clothes. Phoebe came for a visit one day and we drew the dolls  and made their outfits. Memories of my childhood.
We visited a friend of my parents in Maine one year and met a daughter who shared the same birthday month as mine.
Susan also had an older sister. I think we might have been around 7 or 8. Susan had Lincoln Logs. That is about all I remember about the visit; the Lincoln Logs. I loved them. I assumed they were boy’s toys, but there were no boys in Susan’s family. I longed to have Lincoln Logs, but never thought to ask for them. I don’t know if I would ever have gotten them. After all they were boy’s toys and there were no boys in my family and most of my cousins were girls.
By middle school age, I discovered train kits. I could buy the kits and assemble them… I could make things. That was what I liked to do.
My parents moved from the house I lived in during those model train years and wrote me asking if I had anything stored in the attic that I might like saved. I was inundated with four kids. I could not think of a thing and my treasures were tossed. It was years later I remembered those train kits… and who knows what else.
As I have learned to say: Memories and people are more important than things….
I bought Legos for my kids. They seemed almost better than Lincoln Logs .I think we had those as well, but it is the Legos that are stored in my basement at the moment, and it is Phoebe who drags them out when she is here. I have watched Phoebe (7) build cities by our fire place. I see myself in this little one and it will be interesting to see where she goes in life. I have recently seen pictures of my little grandchildren touring Lego Land. What a wonderful place! lego land  legoland 2
This entry was posted in fran, lucy, phoebe. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What were you like as a child?

  1. I remember drawing when I was a child. And my mother tells me I was stubborn. I still am. I don’t like being told what to do. I don’t want to do whatever one else does.
    Thank you for sharing your memories.

  2. I remember having a doll house that I loved playing with. It was decorated with tiny furniture and dolls that were too big (e.g., Barbies). The Barbies mostly hung out in the attic since that’s the only room that was tall enough for them.

    Thanks for this walk down memory lane!

  3. Tara Smith says:

    It’s funny how specific some of our memories can be…the bits and pieces we remember so clearly as though it were yesterday. I loved my brother’s mechano set …. Do they even have these any more?!

Leave a Reply

