back to talking with strangers

We went to a favorite restaurant one fall day. We go there so often we ignore the “Please wait to be seated” sign and nod at the greeter and sit where we like. The waitresses know me as well. I always order the same thing. Some bring me my ice tea along with water for both of us. Sea’s order varies between about three choices so they do have to ask him.

We found our window seat and watched the sun on the colorful trees surrounding the green behind this place. It was a beautiful day. I love the colors of fall.

When the meal ended, I left to visit the loo- as they say elswhere. As I passed a small table near to us I saw a woman sitting there dabbing a brush into a box of paints and adding  some color to something she was painting in a small note book. I was curious… thought about just thinking “Hmmm” and going on my way, but instead went back to see what she was working on.

She nodded at me and began telling me about her painting, turning the pages of her pad showing me the fish she painted from photographs taken while diving in the sea. Our waters are so cold I did have to ask where she dove and it was local. Brrrrrr

As she turned the pages showing me sketches in paint and words written around them, she said she takes this wherever she goes. “I don’t mind ever being alone,” was her comment.

I shared my quilting and knitting hobbies. She said she did knit. We agreed it was nice to have things to do when you were alone, or traveling. For me it is knitting.

This morning I thought about her comment- “I don’t ever mind being alone.”

I don’t think I could say that truthfully…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to back to talking with strangers

  1. Introspective, & something everyone might ask themselves, right? It was nice of you to have a chat with her. I imagine she liked talking about her art. And I liked hearing of your restaurant tradition. It feels comforting to have a place like that, doesn’t it? Thank you!

  2. Thank you for sharing your morning. It sounds like a lovely place to eat and to just sit back and enjoy. I like visiting with strangers. My YA stepdaughter was mortified when her Dad and I just talked to strangers on our trip. I’m glad you stopped and talked to her. I could visualize her notebook because of your words.
    Thank you.

  3. Tara says:

    You know, I’ve come to view that perspective as a gift. But, I could see how that view would also be isolating…I expect that it is the degree to which one pursues aloneness. Interesting how open she was to sharing her views and her art with you – she needed companionship then, right?!

  4. newtreemom says:

    I need to find a place so comfortable. Reading about it felt so peaceful. The companionship between you and Sea seems so warm, no wonder it seems hard to picture that you would never mind being alone… you would always have something so precious to miss.

  5. Jaana says:

    Sounds like a very intriguing meeting with two strangers.

  6. Deb Day says:

    I don’t mind being alone–except I don’t think I could sit so comfortably in a restaurant!

Leave a Reply

