Plethora

“The time has come,” the Walrus said,
“To talk (write)of many things:
Of shoes–and ships–and sealing-wax–
Of cabbages–and kings–
And why the sea is boiling hot–
And whether pigs have wings.”

It is Sunday, the day I sort through the various pieces of writing I have accumulated to go over and edit and decide which should go into my Tuesday blog. The only trouble is, I don’t have any spare bits and pieces waiting for me. All that came to mind was this wonderful poem by Lewis Carrol. Of course I had to Google it and find the rest of it. Seems they ate all the oysters.

So here I am on a cloudy Sunday and the boats are being put into the water, which is not boiling hot, but probably very cold. Another race Sunday.

I am mulling over too many quilt projects lining up in my play room. I sent for a pattern and some fabric last week and it arrived on Wednesday, the morning of my gathering of Otterbees. It was not hard for everyone to see the box came from a fabric place so I opened it up and let everyone pat the fabric and exclaim over the pattern. I opened up the pattern and got gasps from my fellow quilters. It looks like one tough one…. But I really want to try it. So I spent yesterday  organizing the fabric and let Sea spend the morning cutting apart the various pieces for the quilt.

The rest of the time has been spent trying to hurry along the blocks I’m working on.  I am taking a class next week so had to assemble the equipment for that. (We won’t even think about what else is lying around waiting for me to finish or start or give up on.)

Of shoes–and ships–and sealing-wax– (not in my quilting world)
Of cabbages–and kings– (they can fend for themselves.)
And why the sea is boiling hot–(it isn’t)
And whether pigs have wings.” (why not? there are crazier things than that in the world)

So back to my play room to watch the races and organize my plethora of projects. (love that word… think I’ll name the new quilt Plethora)

This entry was posted in fran, Otterbees, quilting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Plethora

  1. Lory says:

    I think that is a great name for your quilt!

  2. Wow-it looks like an amazing pattern, Fran. I love that you connected this poem & your quilting/sea life. I used to read the poem to my daughter, who loved it so much she memorized it. I wonder if she still remembers? Thanks for sharing those super little pieces of your life!

  3. Ramona says:

    Love the colors you selected for the quilt. You must be in the Northwest. We had dinner on the deck Sunday night and had to head inside after dinner because it was a bit too cool! I love that the Otterbees patted the fabric. In our family we have a saying that if a female is upset, just let her spend an afternoon in the fabric store. When she comes out, all will be right in her world. She doesn’t even have to buy any fabric!

  4. newtreemom says:

    You know you wrote a perfect line for so many of us- “We won’t even think about what else is lying around waiting for me to finish or start or give up on.” The connections to the poem were fun to read.

  5. Coming from a family of fabric lovers, this line spoke to me: “I opened it up and let everyone pat the fabric and exclaim over the pattern.” Thank you for tying together all these loose ends and interesting thoughts.

Leave a Reply

