horoscope

I don’t often read my horoscope, but it is on the same page as Dear Amy and the crossword puzzle, so I can’t help but take a peek at Virgo. Last Sunday it said I had too many things going. It was right, of course. I can’t even begin to list the started quilts lying around in my sewing room, or the drawers of fabric piles I bought some time ago. I have given away fabric but the stuff seems to make more of itself in different colors, so I grab it, cut it, and it becomes another UFO (unfinished object).

The yarn has the same problem. I gave away a bunch of sweaters a week or so ago, not all of them hand-knit. The Otterbees managed to take some home with them and the rest were taken to a place that sells them to benefit local projects. Now I am making two more sweaters for myself, because I fell in love with the yarn. I have a request from Lucy for a cardigan. I bought three different colors to give her a choice… and of course, won’t return what she hasn’t chosen it but set it aside for… well, maybe a sweater for Phoebe.

So there I was, believing that the horoscope genie had snuck into my house, or had a chat with my husband. The fact is, I cannot live long enough to get everything done as planned. I attended a quilt lecture once, where the speaker’s comment was that if, in fact, you do get everything done and you are still living, what then? She was right. I will keep on starting and collecting and I won’t be there to hear my kids as they handle what is left.

Then Monday came and there I was reading the horoscope again. (I must stop this.) It told me to finish something. I did take this to heart and gathered up two quilts that needed to be sandwiched and quilted. Boy I did I feel good.

Of course on Wednesday a former Otterbee brought a new pattern book to make a quilt for herself. She needed advice and we gave her tons of it. While everyone was offering suggestions, I made a sketch of the block and looked at the pictures enough to figure out how to sew the blocks. Needless to say, I had enough fabric to try out the pattern… and there I am – two finished and another two begun, let alone the others lying around.

Oh well…

The horoscope the rest of the week did not apply to me so I am not reading it any more. I have to admit I don’t think much of horoscopes. All four of my kids are Sagittarius and all four are very different.

This entry was posted in knitting, quilting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to horoscope

  1. pamelahodges says:

    “I attended a quilt lecture once, where the speaker’s comment was that if, in fact, you do get everything done and you are still living, what then? She was right. I will keep on starting and collecting and I won’t be there to hear my kids as they handle what is left.”
    Such a good point. I agree with the speaker, and I will live my life like you. Keep on living and creating, starting and collecting right until the end.
    I love to read your writing.
    So fun. They horoscopes were more a suggestion, or a good idea, not always true. Which of course you know, as all of your Sagittarius children are different.
    I look forward to your next post.

  2. Tara says:

    Horoscopes can turn into horrorscopes if one is not careful! Those quilts are sublime.

  3. Fran, how do you manage all this? I am amazed weekly at how much you do. The sweaters I know must be heavenly & the quilts above are gorgeous. Love the story & how you connected it all up with your Horoscope. When I read mine, there always seems to be something that applies, but maybe I’m reading more into it than is there. I don’t think you should quit. It helped you finish two quilts, didn’t it? Thanks for the great story.

  4. The quilts in the pictures are gorgeous. The sweaters in the descriptions sound exquisite. Your words, however, make the biggest impression on me. The lessons you thought you were hearing in your horoscope turned out to be just rambling, but the message you found in your heart is what counts. Keep on planning and starting, because that’s where finishing comes from! Thanks for a good lesson today!

Leave a Reply

