sisters

I have one sister who is two years older than I am. Her birthday is in July, mine is in September. With Easter and Christmas it made for four nicely divided events for my grandmother on Momie’s side to send gifts to both of us. For a number of years we were the same size, so often two dresses would come and the birthday girl got to choose. At Christmas a huge box would arrive. My sister and I would see this box under the tree. We were not allowed to open or pick it up, but we could sniff and guess. We would sniff the box like puppy dogs to guess what it might be.

These grandparents died when I was quite young so the sniffing game did not last forever. But with just two of us so close together, it was not surprising that we often got gifts on one anothers birthday and were given similar gifts at Christmas and Easter. My parents apparently tried to keep things even. Long after I was married and living on my own, my dad once showed me his list of “gifts” (money spent.)  My sister was widowed when her children were young, so their help for her made sense. I did have to chuckle when the cost of a parental visit to see me in the west was his idea of making things even.

I had four kids of my own. There was no way to keep things even and they did not expect it. If one child needed new shoes, it made very little sense to buy four pair. The one son got new clothes; the younger of the girls got “hand me downs”. I found that if I stashed them in the basement for a year, by the time the next one needed them, they were sort of new, or at least forgotten.

Two sets of the older grandchildren consist of a boy and a girl per family. Two similar outfits doesn’t work. But my two youngest grand-kids are two girls two years apart, just like my sister and I. They are very different little girls, but then my sister and I were very different as well, and when I find the perfect something for one, I am often tempted to get two. Keeping things even really isn’t a great idea. My sister and I did laugh about it long after our parents were gone.

Lucy wanted a poncho. I had no idea ponchos were in style. I found a pattern on line and bought a giant, multi-colored ball of yarn and knit it for her. She tried it on and loved it. I saw the look on Phoebe’s face.
“What color would you like yours?” I could tell I would be knitting another one.

Phoebe picked hers up today. The same color. The same size. I hope they find a way of telling them apart, if it matters. I guess two little girls, two years apart do like the same things when they are 6 and 8. Dare I knit a poncho for the American girl dolls? times two? I suppose so. There is yarn left over.

This entry was posted in knitting, lucy, phoebe and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to sisters

  1. Tara says:

    Phoebe looks so pleased…and that poncho looks adorable. What a lucky set of grandchildren!

  2. I love the old fashioned pictures with the dolls…precious ….and the one with the poncho. Yes they are lucky grandchildren and a poncho for the American girl doll is a great idea xo nanc

Leave a Reply

