stay tuned

The conversation in our house went like this:

huh?
what did you say?
I didn’t hear the end of?
what?
when?
where?
Turn up the sound.
I wish they wouldn’t mumble on the TV.
Speak up, I can’t hear you.

It was time to do something about it , so we did. I say we, because when I made the appointment, Sea made one too and we went together. We had hearing tests. I was sure his was worse than  mine and it was, in a way. They put hearing aids in our ears and said “Talk to each other.”

“Talk”, says Sea.

“Say something,” I said.

“Something.”

That’s how it went. Sea did not like the hearing aids and they took them off. I had already made up my mind  to do something, so they installed aids and programmed them. I coughed up the credit card and for the next week, Sea said “Can you hear me now?” at regular intervals. He also continued to say “”What did you say?”and variations of the above.

I am still getting used to them. My ears itch. Twice they have fallen out. I am learning to stick them into the ear farther. I am testing the different modes. And I can hear better.

I have 30 days to decide. I have turned down the car radio. I only raise the volume on the TV when Sea wants to hear as well. I still hear too much noise when visiting my favorite restaurant.

Stay tuned.

This entry was posted in fran, sea and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to stay tuned

  1. Linda Baie says:

    My sister-in-law just got some hearing aids & is amazed at how much she’s been missing. I hope they will work for you. It’s a good thing to be able to hear. Now if you can convince your husband! It’s great of you to share, because I might need some one day & I will remember that you did it, Fran! Thanks!

  2. Tara says:

    They say it takes some getting used to, hence the 30 days, I suppose. Good for you that you took th first step…I’ll stay tuned.

  3. Kat says:

    Oh, I need to do this too. I hate not being able to hear things and we seem to have a genetic component in our family that is showing up earlier and earlier–ugh. It seems like they are helping though, so I may have to bite the bullet!

  4. blkdrama says:

    Too bad they haven’t figured out a better system yet, but what courage to take action 🙂
    Bonnie

  5. versana says:

    Awesome! You will reach a place where you are used to them and will be able to fine tune them, as it were….

  6. judith harmon miller says:

    Deder, I never know how to spell it, but I can still hear the ring of the sound of your nickname swirling up the backstairs.

    Speaking of sound, Roland and I have the same conversation. Several years ago, while visiting us from the west coast Sarah said, “Mom and Dad you must stop talking to one another from different rooms.” I have dutifully had a hearing evaluation, but can’t get myself to try the aids.

    Can you imagine what it was alike to read “Gudgies.” So well written. Will recommend it to my writer daughter.

    Your sister gave me the heads up on this website. Teriffic. Best from uour summer sister

  7. pamelahodges says:

    I found your blog though your daughter. I loved your story. Besides that the content is interesting. You have such a fun “voice” I coughed up the credit card.
    Now I have so much catching up to do on your other stories.

Leave a Reply

