trapped

Lunch with Amelia on Saturdays is a tradition with us, unless she has another commitment with her daughter or a friend who lives in Seattle. I am not sure when it started but it is a treat for me to hear about her school and what she is doing and I share my latest unfinished quilt or sweater. She knits and has taken over some of my yarn that I was trying to unload, but she doesn’t knit some kinds of sweaters. (When Brittany asked for a fair isle type of sweater she simply said “Talk to Grandma.” And Brittany did. We had a discussion about colors since Britt’s color choices have changed since she was a little girl. Back then I knit brights for her, now she wants oatmeal and rusts and greens.)

Amelia and I also share an interest in visiting quilt shops. She has invaded some of my stash and asked for a preview of what I plan to give away. She gets first grabs. The Otterbees get second grabs and Lucy manages to chop up what is left.

Thus it was, a week or so ago, we did the quilt shop tour. There are three in Bellingham and we went to all of them. I resisted at the first one, but succumbed to some 6 inch square packages in the next one. I planned to make a small quilt. At the third shop, I was roaming around one area and Amelia another. “Come see these cute owls,” says she.
       

They were cute. I have always loved owls. I didn’t need yards of the owls but… maybe a half yard.

“They go with the squares,” suggests Amelia and there I was…. trapped.

This entry was posted in amelia, quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to trapped

  1. candy says:

    Haven’t we all been trapped like that!!! Cute owls!

  2. Linda Baie says:

    And you’ve already put it together! So cute. My granddaughter dressed as an owl for Halloween (she’s almost 3) and I then found a stuffed owl for her, then a winter hat. I guess with your quilt on display, this makes more owlly things! You are such a master quilter, Fran. I’d love to just shop with you to look at things in the quilt shops. Thanks for another cyber quilting trip!

  3. MaryHelen says:

    What a gorgeous quilt! I love going on the quilt trips with you. My mom quilts and recently I told her I wanted to tape her explaining the history behind the quilts. She has several from my grandma. The material hides so many stories to be told.

  4. Tam says:

    I love the colors and the owls are so friendly. My friend and I quilt a bit and always go together to gather our colors–one of the best parts of quilting. She said I had a knack for blending everything together. To me, it’s like painting a picture.

  5. capewriter says:

    I think we’ve all been trapped like that. It happens near daily at my house with a 2.5 year-old. Hey—live it up :). Owls are very ‘in’ right now! Cute shopping, special time slice… b

Leave a Reply

