new quilt ideas

Oh dear. I’ve started another quilt project and a new knitting project and, when invading my basement, have found even more unfinished projects. Is this new? No…. It is just me.

I attended my quilt guild last week because there was a class on using all the stitches on your sewing machine. I had been contacted about teaching a class with a different name but it involved the same concept. I wanted to see what was going on before I duplicated the project.

There were ten to twelve people in the room and all sorts of things were going on.  A few had machines and were sewing a sample. Others were talking, some taking notes. The minute I got there I was greeted by those who know me with “Hi Fran…. I need to talk to you about….” or “We’ve missed you ( I haven’t gone to a meeting in over a year) or “That lady over there needs help in….”  It was nice to be recognized after being absent for over a year. I had to ask people to remind me of their names. I helped the lady who needed help… and in the process invited her to join the Otterbees, my weekly group of quilters that come to my house.

I also took on one more project. My new friend was doing a set of quilt blocks found on-line twice a month. I had been down loading the patterns with a thought I might try them. Now I am involved in, yet, another project.

It all keeps me happy and busy. I have been making sample quilts for a local shop. The patterns are simple, or are supposed to be, and the fabrics are often colors I wouldn’t choose. But it is interesting. Now when I go to the shop I see my quilts hanging on the walls above that particular fabric selection. I even made a sample for a class I will teach there next month, and, in the process, got some fabric that I love and have added it to my “to-do” pile.

As for the class… I will teach one in October to the guild and between now and then will need to make more examples for the class.

I wonder what other people do all day long. I sew or dream-up new quilt ideas. I knit in the evening. And when the cleaning lady comes, I hide in my basement and re-discover old fabric or yarn and make up piles to give away. This week it was old fabric, now donated to my new friend who volunteers at a middle school where there is a quilt club. It feels good to get rid of stuff to such a great program. Sorry Goodwill…my fabric and yarn has to go to someone who uses it for a good cause, preferably locally.

This entry was posted in quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to new quilt ideas

  1. Kara says:

    Wow! You do such pretty work. I’ve always wanted to do something crafty like that. I learned how to knit while I was pregnant, but it hurt my hands and arms and I never had the patience to learn a different way. So I have a bunch of knitting stuff I keep promising to pick up one day and turn into something, anything, that I can be proud of. No matter how small.

    Thank you for sharing this slice.

  2. Lisa H. says:

    I love to quilt too!! Thanks for the laugh – I could have lots going but I really try to make myself finish one before starting the next one. Right now I’m working on some landscape quilts which are fun and pretty much as quick as you want them to be. Happy Quilting!

  3. Cindy King says:

    SOME day I will sew and quilt all day long. Until then, I fit it in here and there. I love to see what others are working on; thanks for sharing. It’s also nice to know that I’m not the only one who has many incomplete projects in my sewing room. I loved the picture of you that this sentence gives me: “And when the cleaning lady comes, I hide in my basement and re-discover old fabric or yarn and make up piles to give away.” I think you have a satisfied smile on your face while you do this.

  4. Jodi Mahoney says:

    Wow, I admire your talent and your creativity. Perhaps your posts are linked somehow to your quilting process? Finding new posts with old topics, new quilts with old fabric?

  5. macrush53 says:

    What lovely quilts. My two friends quilt and I love their work. It’s a special gift to create in this manner.

  6. Donna Smith says:

    I think it would be great fun to be in your quilting guild. Since retiring I have been teaching a few people how to sew. i haven’t sewn myself very much for a few years, but love the idea of creating things with fabric. I just need to get back in the habit. I have been amazed at how many people don’t know how to use a sewing machine or iron clothes. Just for practical reasons, people should be able to do these things, let alone for the creativity it can unleash.

  7. Tam says:

    I just found a quilting group, but I think I will wait until fall to start. Warm months take me outside. That way I won’t get stuck and discouraged. I have a quilting journal which has all the quilts I’ve made–not that grand, but I’m proud of.

  8. Linda Baie says:

    I wish I could quilt with you, Fran. I suspect I would find the time if I had the company (like we have the slicers). Your photo is gorgeous, & it’s great you get to teach. I imagine this isn’t the first time? Have fun!

    • fran mcgown says:

      It’s not the first time teaching quilting. Thank you for responding to my blog. I love reading all the comments. I have yet to master how to respond to others. Gotta get my daughter to teach me.

  9. MaryHelen says:

    Beautiful quilts. My mom quilts as did my mother-in-law. I love the stories woven in the quilts from my grandma and even my mom’s. One hangs in my room that has the clothes I sewed (or sewn for me) when I was younger. Maybe I will write a slice about that.

Leave a Reply

