hearing problems

I found a way to get my husbands attention. I hung a new quilt in the living room and went up stairs where he was working on a jig saw puzzle, his latest attempt to avoid smoking. I announced, “I hung a new quilt. Now I am going out shopping for new furniture to match it, and a new rug.”

WHAT?

I just laughed and repeated my statement. He just laughed and knew I was headed off to my bi-weekly visit to the pool.

It is probably my fault he doesn’t listen to me. I watch TV in the living room and he doesn’t like all those criminal shows: CSI, NCIS, Law and Order, etc. He sits and reads while the shows are on and, I guess,  has learned not to hear what is going on. He is losing a little hearing, I suppose I am too. Comes with age or just watching too much TV? Who knows.

My mother was very hard of hearing in her old age. She wore a hearing aid, but back then, it did not filter out all the added noises in a room: a chair moving or a door shutting, papers rustling. She learned to lip read much more than she ever thought she did. When we talked, one on one, she would face you and pretty much heard, or lip read, what was said. But when we were in a group, she would often turn to someone near her and ask  what we were talking about. Then she would enter the conversation but was often way off the wall in what she would add. I always felt badly because it made her seem “dingy” and she wasn’t. She was always very bright but she had simply miss heard what we were talking about. We would add to her comment, and then return to what we were talking about before. I don’t know if she noticed.

Momie once told me she thought the most difficult disability was to be deaf. She translated for the blind. She would poke away at a braille board and make books readable for the blind. She sometimes drove a blind friend to a meeting or an event.  She felt that a blind person could be part of a discussion but a deaf person was left out of the social world. I have talked with others about this and have had mixed comments. I guess, in the end, we would all prefer not to have any disability.

I had a deaf student in my class room for math and art one year; she had no hearing at all and her language was very poor, but she would manage to make her needs known to the students in my class. They would translate Amy’s needs to me. She was in her own class for the  hearing impaired the rest of the time. I have always marveled at those teachers who taught her and others to read. Reading, to me, seems so sound related. Or it is when phonics is a part of the program. I assume she must have worked on sight-reading. I have had students in my class who did not understand phonics, but did learn to read. I guess this is another way we can differ in one way or another.

Weeks later… and now I really do have a hearing problem. I was not going to admit it, but an ear wax cleaning bout confirmed what I would not admit. What to do about it is the next decision I need to ponder. I think it’s time to tell my husband I plan to redecorate the whole house and wait for his “WHAT”… and tell him he needs a hearing test also.

This entry was posted in fran, sea and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to hearing problems

  1. elsie says:

    I think I am in the same place as you, my hearing is becoming more limited. I blame my loss due to playing my music too loud in my younger days. Aging is not always fun.

  2. Christy says:

    I remember when a teacher friend of mine first got a hearing aide. She said right after she got it, she was at a lunch with people from school. She was eating salad and the sound she made when crunching on a crouton was deafening. She was sure everyone had to have heard it, so she leaned over to another friend and asked. Apparently, it was just her enhanced hearing! I am glad that you seem to be keeping your sense of humor about it, too!

  3. the other ruth says:

    You have such a relaxed style of weaving stories and thinking together that makes your writing so enjoyable to read, even when it’s about things we’d rather not think about.

  4. Linda Baie says:

    You wound your way into your story that might be hard to say, or hear, but told it so directly, with the backstory too that it touched me quite a lot. Good luck with what happens next? Also hope the decorating goes great!

Leave a Reply

