google it

When any question comes up at the pool, or with the Otterbees, the next comment is -”Google it”. It is not a rare moment when the Poolettes will chime in all at the same time… “Google it”. You would think it was a new game of Marco Polo.
The computer is right near by when the Otterbees visit and we often look something up that we wonder about or enjoy pictures or travel news from one of our group.

My mother taught fourth grade. She had not been trained as a teacher but during the war we were moved to Philadelphia where my dad was stationed at the Navy Yard. My sister and I were enrolled in a small Quaker school which was right in the back yard of our house. There was a day once, when my teacher was sick and the school office called my mother to be a substitute for her. Why not, she thought. She walked across the hockey field that separated our house from the school and became my teacher for a few days. I recall it well. There I was with a new teacher and I didn’t know what to call her. Did I call her Momie, or Mrs… as the other students did. My mother recognized my frustration right away and handed me my assignments and took me to the office where she told the secretary this was not a punishment but it was to acomodate my frustration. I was to have lunch and recess with my class mates as usual and it was then she promised me she would NEVER sub for my class again. I was in 5th grade at the time. Momie did sub in that school quite often, sometimes in my sister’s class but never in mine. She found she loved teaching. Before that she had been a church secretary for a number of years .
By the time I was in high school in a new town and another school, she was asked to sub in the early grades and eventually taught fourth grade full time at the the small school I attended. I recall walking past her classroom seeing this teacher who was also my mother and not recognizing her attitude and stance. There she was a teacher, at home she was Momie.
Early one morning, before she was assigned to the 4th grade full time, when I was a junior in high school, a phone call came with the request for her to sub for the English teacher. This meant she would be my teacher. She asked if I would mind and I said no. I thought I could handle it and appreciated that she asked after her promise of years ago.
My English teacher was a hard task master. She would stare at you with her dark eyes and wait for answers to her questions. I recall thinking it was like having a huge crow in charge of my learning. Then came Momie…This was a whole different picture. We were working on a poetry project and I recall being totally mortified when our home work assignment was to draw a picture to represent a poem. Good grief, juniors in high school don’t draw pictures. I walked out of the class and on to the next saying nothing, but waiting for comments from my class mates. When they all turned to me thrilled to have such a great assignment, I cheered up and was able to complete this assignment easily since drawing was my forte.

When my oldest child reached 4th grade, Momie bought us a set of World Book Encyclopedias. She said that every student needed easy access to this world of knowledge. It was put to good use. That and the National Geographic magazine helped my kids through school and helped me answer some those questions children ask. I recall once when one of them asked a question I did not know the answer to, “Go ask Daddy”, I said.
“No… I don’t want a lecture, I just want the answer” was the response.
There were dinner times which often would end with the kids all dispersed to their rooms for home work when my husband would still be sitting at the table pouring through the rest of the Encylopedia volume which was supplied for the answer to a question.
Now we all just “Google it”. However the encyclopedia is still on the shelf and we do consult it as long as it is something that did not happen after 1963.

This entry was posted in fran and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to google it

  1. Stacey says:

    There was a great article about Googling in the Sunday Style Section of the NY Times. Here’s the link in case you’re interested: http://www.nytimes.com/2010/12/12/fashion/12THISLIFE.html.

  2. Ashley C. says:

    My father has been a band director for all of my life. I had the option to attend the middle school he taught at, but the thought of that was absolutely terrifying! It is very strange how different parents are in their workplaces.

    And–I don’t know what I would do without the Google search bar on my smartphone!

  3. Cathy says:

    I love the traveling in time during your slice. And isn’t it funny how google is now a verb? Thanks for making me slow down and remember.

  4. blkdrama says:

    What a great family history! I am remembering our family encyclopia- Colliers. It was a centerpiece in our bookshelf and the first spot to begin to learn about something new.
    Great connections,
    Bonnie

Leave a Reply

